Glen Magna Farms is owned by the Danvers
Historical Society, a private not-for-profit, founded
in 1889 “to discover, collect and preserve objects
which illustrate local history, but particularly the history
and development of the Town of Danvers.” The Society
owns three historic sites, a museum and office building and is
steward of the Endicott Burial Ground.
Farms, survives unrivaled as an estate exemplifying historic North
Shore summer living. It typifies the golden age of American gardens
when eclecticism and historicism dominated landscape as well as
During the War of 1812, Joseph
Peabody, the wealthiest Salem shipping merchant
of his day, bought a twenty acre Danvers property with a dwelling
house described as “in every respect well calculated
for a gentleman’s seat.” From this initial twenty
acre purchase the property grew to over three hundred and thirty
acres, enduring as the summer retreat for the family for one
hundred and forty-four years.
By 1892 the property belonged to Ellen
Peabody Endicott, Joseph Peabody’s granddaughter, who
further enlarged and embellished the house and grounds. In 1893,
she hired the Boston architectural firm of Little, Browne and
Moore to design the expansion of the Mansion to its classic colonial
revival form. In 1926, the year before Ellen Endicott died, she
was awarded the Hunnewell Gold Medal from the Massachusetts Horticultural
Society. This award was given to the owner of an estate of not
less than three acres, planted with rare and desirable ornamental
trees and shrubs in a tasteful and effective manner so as to
present successful examples of science, skill and good judgement
as applied to the embellishment of the country residence.
Her son, William
Crowninshield Endicott, Jr., continued to lavish attention
on the Farms, upgrading and enhancing the estate until his death
in 1936. He was instrumental in bringing the Derby
Summer House (built
in 1794) to the property in 1901. The two story Adamesque building
has been listed as a National Historic Landmark since 1968.
The Danvers Historical Society purchased the central eleven acres
of the property and has worked to restore the gardens and grounds
to its early 20th century appearance.
Information on the Society, its programs, and membership
may be obtained at the Society office on Page Street, by telephone
(978) 777-1666, e-mail at email@example.com or
by writing P.O. Box 381, Danvers, MA 01923.
contact our Event Department at 978-774-9165
or use this convenient
online inquiry form for a prompt response.
Glen Magna Farms,
P.O. Box 381 - Ingersoll Street , Danvers, MA 01923
Copyright 2012-13 • All rights reserved
All images used on this site are the property of Glen
Magna or the respective photographers. Please contact them for permission
or more information.
Glen Magna Farms is owned by the Danvers Historical Society.
This site designed by Valentine-Design